Faculty & Staff  |  Current Students

Online | News | Calendar | Directory | Library | Give

Baseball News

Point Park's Peluso named NAIA Baseball Honorable Mention All-American

June 5, 2012 at 11:15 a.m. ET

Derek Peluso takes his windup during his NAIA World Series start May 28, 2012.


PITTSBURGH -- The list of 2012 accolades for Point Park University senior pitcher Derek Peluso was capped off Monday with his selection as an NAIA Baseball Honorable Mention All-American. Peluso, a native of Zelienople, Pa., was chosen by the NAIA-Baseball Coaches' Association All-American Committee after posting a 10-1 record and a 2.90 ERA this year.

The NAIA Baseball All-American teams consist of 16 players on the first and second teams and 35 players listed as honorable mention. Making it higher than honorable mention was very competitive as the first and second team includes only four pitchers each. It is the first time in Peluso's career that he has achieved an All-American honor.

Peluso's long list of awards in this his senior season include being named the American Mideast Conference Pitcher of the Year, All-AMC First Team, Team Co-MVP, Team Pitcher of the Year, Capital One (R) Academic All-American Second Team, Capital One (R) Academic All-District First Team and NAIA Scholar-Athlete.

Peluso's 10 wins this year ranked 19th in the NAIA. He set career highs this year for wins (10), games (14), games started (13), innings pitched (77.2), strikeouts (74) and ERA (2.90). He was a major reason why Point Park had a record of 53-11 and reached the NAIA World Series.

For his career, Peluso ended up ranking very highly in the Point Park record book in four major categories. His career record of 19-10 puts him fifth all-time in career wins. His 206.1 innings pitched rank fourth in school history, and his 159 strikeouts rank third. Finally, Peluso is seventh in Point Park history with 47 appearances.

Follow the Pioneers on Twitter @PointParkSports and Facebook.com/PointParkAthletics



24           Cory Hartsburg          1988-91

24           Bryan Neal                 1994-97

23           Rob Fester                   1985-87

23           Mike Curphey            1996-99

19           Derek Peluso               2009-12

18           Todd Stephan            1987-88

18           John Van Atta            1977-79

18           Mitch Benner             1977-80

18           Jason Zachardy         1993-96


233.2      Bryan Neal                 1994-97

225.0      Mike Curphey            1996-99

215.2      Cory Hartsburg          1988-91

206.1      Derek Peluso               2009-12

180.1      Rob Fester                   1985-87

180.1      Seth Martin                 2007-10

179.0      Ernie Peterman          1989-92


219         Cory Hartsburg          1988-91

204         Ernie Peterman          1989-92

159         Derek Peluso               2009-12

155         Rob Fester                   1985-87

155         Mike Curphey            1996-99

151         Bryan Neal                 1994-97


61           Bryan Neal                 1994-97

55           Justin Divell                1998-01

53           Mike Tullio                 2010-12

52           Mike Curphey            1996-99

48           Jeremiah Schroeder   1995-98

48           Clint Carpenter          1994-97

47           Derek Peluso               2009-12

45           Cory Hartsburg          1998-91

45           Jason Zachardy         1993-96