Faculty & Staff  |  Current Students

Online | News | Calendar | Directory | Library | Give

Cross Country News

Pioneers conclude season at AMC Championship Meet

Nov. 7, 2009

CEDARVILLE, Ohio -- The Point Park University men's cross country team concluded its season Saturday at the American Mideast Conference Championship Meet hosted by Cedarville University.


Reuben Rono action

The Pioneers placed 10th of 10 teams, and Reuben Rono was the top finisher for Point Park with a time of 28:29. The junior from Kapsabet, Kenya, placed 43rd overall and earned 33rd place in the team placement. Rono is pictured left.

Rono registered his second fastest time of the year Saturday, and it came one meet after his personal record of 27:57 at the Walsh Invitational Oct. 24.

Dylan Grunn (Honesdale/Abington Heights) finished his strong freshman season by placing 49th with a time of 28:56. Grunn and Rono each turned in times under 29 minutes for the fourth time this year.

Finishing third for the Pioneers was Andrew Witchey (Lower Burrell/St. Joseph), who was 74th with a time of 30:51.

Other runners for Point Park included Chris Kennedy (32:25), Jared Ferree (35:18), Riley Faison (37:17) and Chuck Nicholls (41:12).

Malone won the AMC men's cross country title for the 17th consecutive year by taking five of the top six places. The Pioneers are currently ranked No. 2 in the NAIA although two weeks ago their long reign as the No. 1 was ended.

Malone had 19 points followed by Shawnee State (55) and Cedarville (71). Those three teams will advance to the NAIA Championships along with any individual runners who placed in the top 20.