Faculty & Staff  |  Current Students

Online | News | Calendar | Directory | Library | Give

Cross Country News

Point Park's Grunn, Dill named Capital One (R) Academic All-District First Team

May 31, 2013 at 2:45 p.m. ET

Grunn11   Capital_One_AAA_logo  Dill2012



PITTSBURGH -- Point Park University senior cross country runners Dylan Grunn and Lindsay Dill have been named to the 2012-13 Capital One (R) Academic All-District College Division First Team, as announced by the College Sports Information Directors of America on Thursday (May 30, 2013).

To be eligible, student-athletes must have at least a 3.30 GPA, be nominated by the sports information director at their school and be voted onto the team by CoSIDA members. The Capital One (R) Academic All-District College Division First Team members are recognized for their combined performance in the class room and in cross country. The College Division is for NAIA and junior college student-athletes.

Grunn is a senior broadcasting major with a 3.31 GPA. A four-year member of the Point Park men's cross country team, and a native of Honesdale, Pa., Grunn had a great senior season of 2012. He qualified for the NAIA national championship meet for the first time after placing ninth and earning all-conference honors at the KIAC meet. Grunn had season-best time of 26:40 at the PSU-Berhend meet, and he was under 27 minutes in four of eight meets on the year.

Dill is a fifth-year senior with a 3.68 GPA in journalism and photojournalism. She is a two-time NAIA Scholar-Athlete and a member of the Chi Alpha Sigma National College Athlete Honor Society Point Park Rho Chapter. In cross country, she capped off her career with her first NAIA national meet qualification after placing third at the KIAC meet in 2012. Her season-best time of 20:02 in a 5K earned her All-KIAC honors at the conference meet.

Grunn and Dill will have their names advance to the national ballot for Capital One (R) Academic All-America. Those who make the all-district first team qualify for that award, and the winners will be announced June 24 by CoSIDA.

Follow the Pioneers on Twitter @PointParkSports and Facebook.com/PointParkAthletics