Faculty & Staff  |  Current Students

News | Calendar | Directory | Library | Give

Soccer News

Three players earn All-AMC honors

Nov. 10, 2008

CEDARVILLE, Ohio - Point Park women's soccer players Angela Olivieri, Erica Mikolay and Jo Jo Altebrando earned honorable mention All-AMC honors for the 2008 season.

Olivieri (Edinboro/General McLane) earned All-AMC honors for the third time in her career while Mikolay (North Versailles/East Allegheny) received all-conference recognition for the second time. Altebrando (Montoursville/Montoursville) is a first-time All-AMC honoree.

The AMC is no longer divided into North and South divisions. The All-AMC women's soccer team includes 14 players on the first, second and third teams. There are four forwards, four midfielders, four defenders and two goalkeepers on each of the All-AMC teams.

Olivieri, a junior forward, was a first-team All-AMC North selection in 2007 and a second-team All-AMC North choice in 2006. She led the Pioneers with 10 goals and 21 points this season. The Point Park women's soccer program is in its fourth year as a varsity sport, and Olivieri is the program's all-time leading scorer. She had a team-high eight goals and 19 points in 2007.

Mikolay, a junior defender, started every game on defense for the second straight year. She joined Olivieri on the All-AMC North first team a year ago. Altebrando, a sophomore defender, started every game on defense for the second straight year and handled all of the Pioneers free kick and direct kick duties. She scored one goal on the year.

Mikolay and Altebrando made up the center of the Pioneers' defense, which yielded two goals or less in 12 of 18 games.

Houghton forward Bethany Kowalczyk was chosen AMC Player of the Year, and Houghton coach David Lewis was selected the conference's Coach of the Year. Sierra Patterson (Ohio Dominican) was the Freshman of the Year. The Fair Play Team Award went to Roberts Wesleyan.