Skip to main content

Point Park University's student-run radio station, WPPJ, earned top honors at the 74th Annual Intercollegiate Broadcasting System Conference and College Radio Awards, held in March in New York City.

WPPJ logo

Eight students and David Fabilli, professor of broadcasting and faculty adviser, attended the awards presentation. The winning entries include:

  • First place: "Best Public Service Announcement" for the Early Learning Institute, senior broadcasting reporting major Sara Daversa (writer/producer), senior broadcasting reporting major Mary Jo Maloney (voice over) and junior mass communication major Ali Soukovich (voice over);
  • First place: "Best Specialty Music Program," The Porch Swing, senior broadcasting reporting major Jenni Bloodworth (producer/host).
  • Category finalist: "Best Sports Update," senior broadcasting reporting major Chris Hoffman (producer/host); and
  • Category finalist: "Best Show Promo," Jenni Bloodworth (producer)

During the trip, the aspiring broadcasters got a behind-the-scenes tour of NY1: News, public radio stations WNYC, WQXR and the Paley Center for Media.

IBS is a national college radio station organization made up of more than 1,000 college radio stations from across the United States.

Learn more

Learn more about Point Park University's School of Communication.


More About: mass communication, broadcast reporting, WPPJ